44 clubs were represented at the President’s Trophy which took place at East Brighton Golf Club.  It was a day when rain threatened on and off and any teams that completed 18 holes without any rain were very lucky!  Likewise, our starters Ann Carnegie, Chris Handson and Pat Johns had to dodge the showers. Our thanks to them.

Last year’s winners Brighton & Hove, who were first out set the early pace, but they were soon overtaken. Only 2 points separated the first six teams.  Chartham Park, much to their surprise, came 1st with 82 points. They were represented by Jenny Kirby, Muriel Devonshire and Brenda Marshall.  Bognor’s team of  Sophie James, Sue Crossen and Chris Tuke came second with 81 points. Royal Ashdown Forest also had 31 points, but lost on count back, with their team of Sue Kirby, Jan Hobden and Sue Todd.

Thanks should go to Lady Captain Pat Mann, Juanita Barnes and General Manager Rebecca Prout for all their help both on the day and before the event.

For the full competition results click here.


2nd Place – Bognor Regis


3rd Place – Royal Ashdown Forest