Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

In 2019 the new Rules will provide clearer guidance and assistance to players when their ball accidentally moves on the putting green.

Under new Rule 13.1d, there will no longer be a penalty if a player (or opponent) accidentally causes the player’s ball to move on the putting green.

Also under Rule 13.1d, the procedure for when a ball on the putting green is moved by wind, water or other natural forces is revised, so that it must sometimes be replaced and sometimes be played from its new spot:

  • If the ball had been lifted and replaced on its original spot before it moved, the ball must always be replaced on its original spot, regardless of what caused it to move.
  • The ball must be played from its new spot only if the ball had not been lifted and replaced before it moved.

 

Share