About Sussex County Ladies Golf Association

SCLGA was initially created as Sussex County Ladies’ Golf Club and they held their first meeting in Lewes in 1900, with their six founding members Ashdown Forest, Bexhill, Crowborough, Hastings, Royal Eastbourne and Seaford. Today, there are 58 clubs in Sussex affiliated to the SCLGA, with nearly 3,800 members. The county colours of canary yellow and blue were adopted in the 1960’s.

The Sussex County Championship was inaugurated in 1923, and all our County Champions have played inter-county matches for Sussex. It is now the Champion’s honour and privilege to lead the County team, and in recent years she has had an automatic place on the County Committee and the Selection Committee.

What We Do

Today, we have 57 affiliated clubs with nearly 3,800 female playing members in Sussex. Our role is wide ranging, including:

  • Provide a framework for amateur ladies golf in Sussex
  • Promote and encourage play at all levels
  • Identify and nurture talent
  • Develop our elite golfers and select teams to represent the county
  • Represent Sussex in national issues and debate
  • Work collaboratively with Clubs and other organisations in pursuit of the above (eg the mens’ Sussex County Golf Union, County Development Officer and England Golf)


Everything we do is on a voluntary basis, we have no salaried staff. Our income comes from the ‘per capita levy’ which clubs add to their membership fees (currently £6 per person) and each club pays to be affiliated to SCLGA. In addition we sell the County Cards at £6, plus any surplus from competition entries.  Please support our efforts by buying County Cards and entering events, since these funds are a vital contribution to our finances. We’re always interested in hearing from people and organisations who might consider a sponsoring some element of our work and travel costs for the Junior and Elite teams. Please keep your eyes and ears open for us!


Our AGM takes place every year on the first Monday in November at The Charmandean, Forest Road, Worthing, BN14 9HS.  The 2017 AGM took place on Monday 6th November and to obtain the 2017 AGM Minutes, please click here.

Our Team

Our County Executive is made up of 18-20 elected members, and the tenure is typically 3-5 years dependent on the role. Some of the key roles include:

  • President Captain
  • Past Captain
  • Honorary Secretary
  • Honorary Treasurer
  • Competition Secretary
  • Communications Officer
  • Division 1-4 Secretaries
  • Junior Organiser

We also have a number of Honorary Life Members who have made an exceptional contribution to county golf over many years.

If you feel you have the skills and experience required and would like to discuss opportunities to get more involved in county golf, please click here to email the County Captain.